The Last Refuge

The Last Refuge

FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF RANDOM AND MURDERABILIA - John Callum is fleeing his past, but has run straight into danger. When John Callum arrives on the wild and desolate Faroe Islands, he vows to sever all ties with his previous life. He desperately wants to make a new start, and is surprised by how quickly he is welcomed into the close-knit community. But still, the terrifying, debilitating nightmares just won't stop. Then the solitude is shattered by an almost unheard of crime on the islands: murder. A specialist team of detectives arrives from Denmark to help the local police, who seem completely ill-equipped for an investigation of this scale. But as tensions rise, and the community closes rank to protect its own, John has to watch his back. But far more disquieting than that, John's nightmares have taken an even more disturbing turn, and he can't be certain about the one thing he needs to know above all else. Whether he is the killer … Brilliant crime fiction for fans of Stuart MacBride and Ian Rankin, Craig Robertson's debut thriller Random was shortlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger. Praise for Craig Robertson: 'Robertson is doing for Glasgow what Rankin did for Edinburgh' Mirror 'I can't recommend this book highly enough' MARTINA COLE 'Brace yourself to be horrified and hooked' EVA DOLAN 'Fantastic characterisation, great plotting, page-turning and gripping. The best kind of intelligent and moving crime fiction writing' LUCA VESTE 'Really enjoyed Murderabilia - disturbing, inventive, and powerfully and stylishly written. Recommended' STEVE MOSBY 'A great murder mystery witha brilliantly realised setting and deftly painted characters' JAMES OSWALD 'Takes a spine-tingling setting and an original storyline and adds something more' Scottish Daily Record 'A perfectly constrcuted police procedural with real psychological depth' Crimefictionlover

GET EBOOK

Author
Publisher Simon and Schuster
Release Date
ISBN 1471127761
Pages 400 pages
Rating 4/5 (62 users)

More Books:

The Last Refuge
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Craig Robertson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-05-22 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF RANDOM AND MURDERABILIA - John Callum is fleeing his past, but has run straight into danger. When John Callum arrives on the wild
The Fire and the Flame
Language: en
Pages: 268
Authors: Robert Paul Szekely
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004-11-01 - Publisher: Xulon Press

?ENJOY THE HUMOR AND INSPIRATION IN THESE WONDERFUL STORIES WHICH FOLLOW ON THE HEELS OF MY THIRD BOOK, ?I REMEMBER?YESTERDAYS TREASURES.? THESE STORIES RECOMME
Fire
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Kristin Cashore
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-09-24 - Publisher: Hachette UK

A must-read title for all fans of Patrick Rothfuss and Trudi Canavan, FIRE is an exceptional fantasy novel. From the deft characterisation to the gripping story
The Sunbird
Language: en
Pages: 615
Authors: Wilbur Smith
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-04-01 - Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks

In Wilbur Smith's The Sunbird, Dr. Ben Kazin is a brilliant archeologist. Louren Sturvesant is rich, impulsive, and physically imposing, everything Ben is not.
From Sign to Signing
Language: en
Pages: 441
Authors: Wolfgang G. Müller
Categories: Language Arts & Disciplines
Type: BOOK - Published: 2003 - Publisher: John Benjamins Publishing

This volume, a sequel to Form Miming Meaning (1999) and The Motivated Sign (2001), offers a selection of papers given at the Third International Symposium on Ic
Fire Magic
Language: en
Pages: 48
Authors: Clettis V. Musson
Categories: Games & Activities
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-11-01 - Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

Originally published in 1952, here is Clettis V. Musson's collection of magic tricks and stunts with fire. A Brownstone Classic of Magic.
The Kid With Broken Glasses
Language: en
Pages: 356
Authors: Walter Manuel
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-04-14 - Publisher: Walter Manuel

Proceeds from the sale of this book will be donated to: Sun Youth Montreal / Orange and Protestant Children's Home Foundation. This true, first-person memoir of
Pushing the Limits
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Henry Petroski
Categories: Architecture
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-12-18 - Publisher: Vintage

Here are two dozen tales in the grand adventure of engineering from the Henry Petroski, who has been called America’s poet laureate of technology. Pushing the
Rose Gardner Box Set #1
Language: en
Pages: 914
Authors: Denise Grover Swank
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-12-09 - Publisher: DGS

USA TODAY Bestseller! Box set of the first three books and novella in the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Rose Gardner Mystery series. When Rose Gardne
Journey to Ssekimpi
Language: en
Pages: 267
Authors: S. S. Winston
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-12-12 - Publisher: Lulu.com

The novel Journey To Ssekimpi is about a young boy who gets kidnapped to another world. The story which originates from the eccentric imagination of author S.S.